Logo Design, College View Animation, End of School

Oh look, I’m blogging instead of studying.

I can’t decide if I’m refusing to study because I’m having a hard time accepting that college/school is going to be done forever, or if I’m just in my usual procrastination mode.  Probably a little bit of both.  I have one final tomorrow, and then my last one is on Friday.  THEN I GRADUATE FROM COLLEGE ON SATURDAY! Yipes!

Needless to say though, I am excited about Summer.  I’m going to continue working at my design internship at Creative Services and waitressing at the Comedy Attic. I’m really happy with the experience I’m getting at Creative Services, but I also love my fellow interns.  There is usually some form of hilarity going on in our small nook of the office.  The intern corner has been referred to as the “fun corner,” or as I like to call it, “the kids corner.”  Sort of like the childrens’ book section at Barnes and Noble or something.

Speaking of Creative Services, a project that I designed just went live a few days ago. The task was to design a new flash presentation that autoplays as soon as a person visits IU’s information page on the College View website. Deciding to integrate a color scheme and design that reflected IU’s preexisting 2010 admissions information was simple, but finding photos everyone was happy with was another thing.  After searching our database of hundreds of photos multiple times, we finally connected the dots and put together a nice animation, click the image below to see it!  It’s short, but sweet.  🙂

Click image to go to College View animation

And then on the freelance side of things, I finally finished up a logo for Breathe Africa Safaris and Tours (website still to be developed). Landon (Breathe Africa’s business owner), and I set a due date for this logo months ago, but with me finishing up my thesis, and Landon having a mess of other ordeals to work out, we kept pushing it back.  However, seeing how the logo developed from the original sketches makes me think that the extra time was certainly worth it.  Landon will be integrating the new logo into his business as it further develops.  Here is my finished design!

And finally, keep your eyes and ears peeled!  valerieleek.com will be finished soon!  🙂

Leave a comment